Jotul 602 Restoration - Advice?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Blake Carrington

Oct 3, 2018
Denver, CO
Hello Hearth people!

***Disclaimer: I'm a complete newbie to this community. I searched the forum & guides and perhaps missed what I need - apologies if this topic has been covered at length previously. If so please just point me in the right direction. Or point me to the correct sub-forum. Thanks for reading!​

I've got a pre-EPA Jotul 602 here in Denver, CO that I received as a gift from my mom a ear ago (purchased cheap in Virginia and driven out here for some strange reason). It has some notable rust on the exterior - in the notoriously detailed working of these stoves. Questions, details, and pictures below. Thank you for any advice or feedback you're willing to offer.
  1. I've got a grandfathered wood-burning chimney in an old house here - will never need any inspection
  2. Stove is holding some unfortunately positioned rust; should I restore or just burn it as-is? Obviously I'm going to test to make sure it doesn't leak, but if it's sealed is it worth going through the restoration process?
  3. IF I should restore it, should I plan on beading the entire thing (can disassemble it) and re-painting it? OR just go after the rust by hand with copper brushes?
  4. If I should just attack the rust - do I buy the Jotul paint and brush it on?
  5. If I should bead it and start over - what the hell do I paint it with? I love the enamel but can't find anywhere here who can coat and bake it.