jotul 602N vs 602 CB

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am not sure how these threads work. I am new at this. Regarding the 602N does any one know what year if was introduced to the USA? The reason I am asking is someone is trying to sell me a 602N and I am wondering what I am missing commpared to the CB designation.

The 602 went into production in 1940, soon followed by the 118.

The 602 is the most used wood stove world wide and still in production with small changes.

Check that the top and side plates are in place and solid without cracks. With a strong light check the casts for cracks in and out, the door and circular air control for operation. Leave at least 2" of ashes or clean sand on the bottom at all times. These often came in green procelain, durable and nice looking.

We had a green porcelain 602N in our sauna for years before SWMBO wanted the sauna for her garden shed. I paid $200 for this green 602 in 1997, sold it in 2005 for $200.

You may need an adaptor for the smaller metric to standard 6" pipe.

thanks for the info. The only thing that puzzles me is the current owner claims her 602 N is only 1 year old. It has a glass door. More like a CB version. I could ask her to take a pic of the back plate and that should show the mfg. date.

The N and CB are the same.

EDIT: I guess I should expand on this. Both N's I've seen here in the states were the same as my CB. Jotul still sells the N in other parts of the world; for example, see:
http://www.jotul.com/en/wwwjotulukcom/Main-Menu/Products/Wood--Multi-fuel/Stoves/Jotul-F-602-N/