Jotul 8 > Firelight 12

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

scottgen20

Feb 15, 2006
Lower Saucon, PA
Hi Everyone,

Hope you are all keeping safe during these crazy times!

Wanted to bounce something off of the group. I've been running a 1984 1st generation Jotul 8 for the last several years. It's been a great stove, it's beautiful (red enamel) and hasn't given me any problems. I can load it up before bed on a nice hot bed of coals, damp it down and I have enough coals in the morning to get it going again very quickly. It's also super easy to get up to temperature from a cold start. I have double wall chimney down to the stove connector and it stays surprisingly clean - literally no creosote and each cleaning results in just some fine dust. Looking out at the chimney I rarely see any smoke.. Not sure if I have the perfect combination of chimney and installation but it's been a good stove.

My only real complaint about the stove is that on a hot reload if not done properly it can spit some embers out of the draft wheel openings. Doesn't happen often but something that needs to be monitored. Also, while the firebox is a good size (since there are no burn tubes, etc), I have more than once had to jockey a split out that didn't quite fit and run it out of the house. If my Jotul 8 could handle a 24" split I'd keep it forever!