Jotul F500 Needing TLC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

lhadlemr

Sep 27, 2020
Newark, OH
Greetings, I am a newbie here and to owning a wood stove.

A Jotul F500 came up on Marketplace for $400, I researched it and decided it was a good fit for heating my barn (man cave to-be,) and bought the stove today. The stove has a 2008 mfg date. The seller (friend of owner) said that it was purchased new in 2009, but was never installed. It looks like the owner might have started the break-in process outdoors, but for some reason changed his mind and never installed it. The stove sat in a shed until last week. Sadly, a decade of condensation and mice inside of it caused a lot of surface rust and in some places on the finish.

My questions:
What should I do to restore the black finish? Repaint it or use stove black?
The stove will need all new gaskets - should I buy the whole gasket kit?
The top Vermiculite baffle and insulation blanket need to be replaced.
Where is a good place to buy these replacement parts?
There are no fire bricks in this stove - should there be?

Thank you in advance for all advice.
Pictures attached, after it was vacuumed and power washed.

Attachments

• IMG_3467.jpg
    IMG_3467.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 166
  • IMG_3468.jpg
    IMG_3468.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 165
  • IMG_3470.jpg
    IMG_3470.jpg
    22.4 KB · Views: 166
  • IMG_3472.jpg
    IMG_3472.jpg
    56.3 KB · Views: 177
  • IMG_3477.jpg
    IMG_3477.jpg
    23.4 KB · Views: 178
  • IMG_3476.jpg
    IMG_3476.jpg
    50.6 KB · Views: 153