Jotul Firelight 12 Operation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

tg27

Feb 16, 2020
USA
Hi all...

I started a thread last week about burning through wood too fast. While the consensus seemed to be an issue with wood, the group thought it’d be a good idea to start a thread about using the Firelight 12 to make sure I’m not going about it wrong and inadvertently eating through wood too quickly. I am a rookie after all.

So...here is my process...

• Start with an ash-free firebox and tray
  • Load the box with newspaper and throw about 3 pieces of fatwood on there
  • Load some backyards sticks and twigs on that
  • Warm the pipe with a heat gun
  • Open our back door to equalize pressure
  • Make sure the damper is open
  • Airflow all the way to the right
  • Light ‘er up!
  • Leave the door cracked while it catches
  • Throw some bigger pieces of backyard wood on; let it catch
  • Throw two small logs on; let them catch
  • Close door. Wait a few moments to ensure fire doesn’t go out
  • Put one log on a normal-size log
  • After it catches, put on another log
  • Wait until pipe temp reaches about 400 to 500
  • Close damper and back off airflow
  • At this point, my goal is to keep it burning around 300. Sometimes I can’t keep it steadily there, and have to add more wood and open the damper and airflow to get it really fired up.
  • Eventually, I get it burning nicely around 300 with the damper closed and the airflow all the way to the left
  • Throughout the day, I keep about 2 logs burning
  • At night or if I’m going out, I stack it up with wood. It lasts about 4 hours fully loaded