Jotul Oslo vs. Blaze King Ashford 30

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NH Novice

Feb 2, 2014
United States
As my handle says, I'm new here so bear with me. Before posting, I did read the warnings and I'm aware this is probably the most cliche post on here, but I could use the help and the forum's collective expertise.

Here is my situation. I'm a relative novice to wood stoves. Over the past three years I've owned two. I was renting a cabin that had a Morso 3610 (great stove) in the basement and heated the whole house.

Recently, I bought a new home which has an old (25 year old) Jotul model. I didn't pay too much attention to it during the inspection but after moving in quickly realized that it is an old catalytic model but the stove had been overfired and the box were the cat would go is warped. As a result of its age and wear the stove is really inefficient and old burns for about 2 hours before either sputtering out (if the air is turned down at all) or completely eating up all the wood.

The house is a forty year old open-concept post and beam. The main floor is one big room with the master bedroom lofted above. In all, the space is just over 1400 sq feet. The ceilings are fairly high (~20ft).

I've done a lot of research online and gone to see both these stoves, which are available locally. These two stoves are my finalists (I also considered soapstone but surprisingly my lady finds them ugly).