Just ordered Quadra-fire 1200i

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Roland

Hearth Supporter
Feb 26, 2007
I am brand new to pellet stoves. I read as much as I could on pellet stoves (alot of the input from this forum) and narrowed my choice between the harman accentra insert and the Quadra-fire 1200i. The issue that made me go with the quadra-fire was the price. The local Hardware store that carries the Quadra-fire put it on sale for 35% off. So last Saturday I placed the order and I am having it installed by the dealer. Installed price is about $3100. I have a masonary chimney about 22 feet brick fireplace with a 2000 foot split level house. I am reading the owners manual and the service manual so I can learn as much as possible when the dealer installs the 1200i. I was wondering a few things. One does anyone have any advise on key points I should fully understand from the service man when he installs the stove. I can read alot but that is far short of actual experience in dealing with a pellet stove. Secondly I have been trying to get a handle on whether I should buy a ash vacuum. I get the feeling that some people do not believe it is necessary. Some friends of mind not in the business think there will not be that much ash generated to warrant buying a special vacuum. I would appreciate some opinions. Lastly and I guess this is a little out there since the stove has not been installed yet, I was thinking about using a 900 watt computer type UPS as a temporary battery backup. This would stop the stove from turning off if the lights blink like they normally do and at the