Kettle, Humidifier, Trivet? Help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalinky

Dec 7, 2009
Ohio
Hi,
We got a new Pacific Energy Super 27 installed about 2 months ago. We are having several issues with it that I may post questions about seperately. To the point of this post: I bought a cheap cast iron kettle to serve as a humidifier. Keep in mind that I am a rookie here! My husband moved us to the country and the only way to stay warm in this house is with the stove going! I wasn't thinking about the fact that rust would be an issue with a non-coated kettle and do not want to deal with the rust. On our old stove, we just used an old stainless pot that sat directly on top...but it was ugly and all mineralized from the hard water. I know to use vinegar to deal with the minerals, but at the time we were using that system, I just didn't care. So now with the new stove, I was going to go get a stainless steel kettle to replace this rusting iron one, but after researching, I'm understanding that a kettle will not provide as much humidity as an open pot, or steamer/humidifier would, right? So what should I get that will look nice, not cost a lot, and provide a decent amount of humidity? Also, is using a trivet necessary to protect the stove top? I certainly do not want it rusting. Please educate/help me! Thanks!

Is this a problem with only this stove?

Maybe its more difficult with your stove, but I love my steamer. It looks nice, can be scented, and is the first place my hands warm up after coming in from the cold. An added humidifier does do much more than the steamer though