Large Wood Stove Purchase Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Lv2trav

Jan 20, 2021
New Hampshire
I am new to the wood burning stove world, but reading posts on this website have really aided me in my level of understanding, so thank you!

We purchased a 3 story open floor plan home (think log cabin style with 1st to 3rd floor completely open) that has an Englander NC30 installed. It is in need of a lot of work and we decided to purchase a new stove. Also, we spent $650 in propane our first month so I would like to use firewood to at least cut this in half. I should also mention we seem to have a draft issue and I don't understand why. I had everything inspected and they said the chimney is tall enough and barely used. Every time I open the Englander to put wood in smoke billows out, even opening it slowly. Not pleasant. I tried to crack a window and it still happens. Could it be the stove? It is missing a baffle, one is half gone, one burner tube is missing and another is crushed. We also live beside a 100 acre pond/lake so not sure if that could be an issue?

We are looking for a large wood stove, and like the enamel finish, but I have noticed many of the large stoves outside VC don't have enamel. We like the PE T6, and are considering the Hearthstone Manchester, although our space does not allow for side loading. Any other recommendations? Would the PE T5 be far too undersized (like the enamel)? If push comes to shove we can get over the enamel, but I hope this is a one time purchase so want to get what we like to look at. The Jotul is nice, but again no enamel.

TThank you all in advance! Chris