Looking for XL; Sun Door

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

royrizzle

Jan 31, 2015
Cent. WI
I ' ve been looking for a xl, searched michigan CL and all over the country,but no luck though .

I saw your ads, looking for a sunburst door right? The one I got has fir trees and nickel. I'm no expert but from what I've read the fir trees are the late models. It has ball legs not the bear legs.

Looking for the sun door design. I believe there were two designs for the xl . The sun door and fir trees. Anyway I saw one on CL last year in Michigan and it was 34 1/2 " across and 29 1/2 deep. I believe it was the fir tree design . Totally the goliath of wood stoves . Some even had a 10 " flue collar.

One I got has 10" flue, it's a monster. I can't find a 10" to 6" reducer. My humble belief is that surface area is the key to heat unless your trying to burn wet newspapers. This xl has the stainless screen too.

You know i have to ask . Where did you purchase it and for how much ? These stoves I guess were only made in Salt Lake City Utah. The one I saw in Michigan was near Manistee, I beleive. And yes surface area is key.

And yes surface area is key.
Sorry guys but surface area is one tiny part of it

One I got has 10" flue, it's a monster. I can't find a 10" to 6" reducer
Again are you seriously thinking of trying to reduce a 10" vent down to 6" there is no way whatsoever that that will work right

Again are you seriously thinking of trying to reduce a 10" vent down to 6" there is no way whatsoever that that will work right

Why not? My ex-wife's uncle's neighbor's Grandpa did. >>