Looking to heat my garage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

qoncept

Oct 13, 2014
Iowa
I've had an old Modine natural gas furnace sitting in the garage that I've been dragging my feet on for a few years and I think I've finally decided it's not what I want. I have access to plenty of firewood and I think a stove is the best way to go simply because fuel would basically be free, but I'd like a little advice first as I have no experience with a stove.

The garage is 38x24' with (I believe) R19 insulated walls and insulated doors. The ceiling isn't insulated yet but I'll get to it eventually. I'm in Iowa, so over the winter it'll see highs typically between 20-30f and lows 0-10. I really just want to make sure it stays warm enough in the garage to keep everything from freezing and the ability to get it warm (60+) when I need to work on a car. With the firewood I'll have access to I'm not overly concerned with efficiency - if I need to keep it 70 degrees 24/7 to do what I want that's fine.

My biggest question is what to do for size and insulation. This all came about because my neighbors have a stove they're going to list on craigslist. It's a Timberline like this with a burn chamber about 18x22". Since I have no idea what that would heat I asked the neighbor and he bounced back and forth between "that's a hell of a lot of stove for that garage" and "yeah, I'd put this one in there." Is it too big? Would I be better off getting a smaller one?