Looking to replace ZC fireplace with insert or EPA fireplace..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

UGA4

Sep 14, 2017
Maryland
Hi everyone,

Newbie here, and great forum. I have a Heatilator EC42 fireplace with prefab chimney that I would like to replace with something far more efficient that will help heat our home this winter. The room itself is a 2 story living room that is mostly open (colonial style), with approx. 3000 sf. of space (including upstairs bedrooms). There are no ceiling fans in the living room - just a large chandelier above that we don't plan on replacing.

Originally we looked at a few ZC inserts, but I still am concerned about going with an insert stove in a ZC fireplace w/prefab chimney, as apparently there still could be a fire risk. Another drawback is we would have to go with a smaller stove (current fireplace opening is 21(h) x 35 x 18, and I've read here that ZC approved stoves don't throw as much heat as other stoves/inserts.I looked at a few stoves that might this space - such as the Regency H200/300 - but they simply looked too small overall.