Low burn temps with new Hearthstone Phoenix

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jajasoon

Dec 7, 2008
Vermont
I'm new to the wood-burning world, having had a Phoenix installed into our fireplace this fall (insulated liner running 1 1/2 stories up & out the main chimney). Looks great, and the draft seems fine (never get smoke backup with opening the door). But I can't get the stove to really heat up - packed firebox & flames twinkling, and the top stones don't go past 250! With the cast-iron front, I assumed that a raging fire would make it near impossible to stand next to the stove, but it's perfectly comfortable. Needless to say, this is not doing much to heat my house.

I'm thinking wet wood might be my main trouble, as I've had some creosote buildup on the glass and most of my logs don't show signs of being totally dry - typically the logs take awhile to catch. Anything else I might be on the lookout for? Is unseasoned wood enough of a problem to cause this level of underperformance?

I've been scouring the forums here, but apologize if there are answers to be found that I've missed...

Thanks!