LVP planks near hearth

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Carlos916

Mar 20, 2023
Roseville
Greetings I am new to wood burning stoves. My wife and I bought a Ironstriker c160. It's a tiny stove and works well for the little house. I have a question regarding LVP planks being installed in my house and they go up to our brick hearth which is 18 inches away from our stove. My question is does anyone know if the LVP planks will get damaged or warped if they get warm to the touch right up against the last brick on the hearth. I can't find any info on this question in the store or internet. Does anyone have LVP planks near their wood burning stove and if so how is it working out?

16792866528736097797016369958393.jpg

How hot does the floor get? I have a stove on a hearth with aminate and my floor stays cold in front of the stove.
Is your LVP a floating floor? Is there a gap all around the perimeter? If it's supposed to be floating the temperature might make it expand so the perimeter gap allows the expansion.

Does the hearth extend at least 18" in front of the stove door? It looks like this might be a little shy of hearth protection for the stove. For peace of mind, put a hearth extension pad or at least a hearth rug in that area. If you have any pets, that will become their go-to place in winter.

I have a hearth extension, then a floating laminate floor. It does get warmer in front of the stove, but no expansion or other issues that I’ve noticed