Moisture Meter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gangsplatt

Mar 26, 2008
Plattsburgh, NY
I have been using the yellow one for three years or so. Works fine for me.

Ditto on the yellow centech. Very satisfied. The only thing, I found it took 3 weeks to ship . . . which may not matter this time of the year.

I would recommend 2 pins over 4, much easier to get the pins in since we're not talkin about finished wood. Drill holes, don't try to jam the pins in.

Check ebay as well. Just bought a two pin alot like the four pin on your thread for $19 + $7 shipping. Tried it out yesterday and seams to work great.

Yep, the yellow one is on year 2 for me as well. Never a problem, except the cheap chinese battery died quickly.

So many have that yellow meter. I happened to find one at HF yesterday, (and bought it of course), but I don't think it's working.

The manual says to test it by shorting the pins with metal, thus resulting in the bottom LED lighting (while pressing the low side button). I can't get it to do anything in this situation.

I tried it on several different woods, and some actually showed some activity, always on the low side. The high (16-35%) has never lit for anything.

The 9v battery checks to 10v.
When either button is pushed, the Lo Batt light flashes briefly. I was assuming this to be normal, but is it?

Is this anyone else's experience, especially the shorted pin test? I plan to return it today, but they only had one other on the shelf.
Thanks,

granpajohn said: