My wood smoldering stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ddug

Hearth Supporter
Nov 26, 2010
SW New Mexico
Hi all! New member here and I was hoping you could help a greenhorn who knows nothing about wood stoves with a problem.

I am building a 600 sq. ft. home with loft and cathedral ceiling (20 ft. high). It is dried in but as yet uninsulated. I recently acquired a Vermont Castings aspen wood stove and have just finished installing it and can not get it to burn with the door closed. I have taken it apart and inspected and cleaned it. Everything looks good but as I said I'm new at this so I'm not exactly sure what to look for.

I am using a well seasoned mix of mostly juniper, and the rest pinion pine and scrub oak. Not the most prime fuel I realize but its what I have and I am not buying any. I can get a real hot fire going but if I close the door it slowly dies. Even after burning for several hours and developing a nice bed of coals (a struggle!) I can add wood and if I close the door it will not light and more or less just smolder. If I open the door it will light and start to produce heat. With the door cracked just a hair it becomes a raging inferno and I have experimented with getting a lot of good fuel really going until everything is hot and then closing the door and same thing- fire goes out and coals turn from red to black. Heat goes down.