Need a less noisy room fan stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Dec 10, 2018
Central NH
I've been using a Castel Serenity stove for 4 years now. Functions great, but the room heating blower on it is too loud.
When in operation, it has a whistling tone, and is very annoying. Even in slow mode.
Would like to replace with a stove that has a quiet room fan / blower. I'm only heating a 1500 sq foot house.

Reactions: EdNilsson77
I have yet to find a quiet fan for a stove. Not sure if it would work for you, but I have used a box fan to move air by my stove. Using one on low/med is far less noisy.

Suggest a wood stove with no fan !
Fan noise is inherent with any pellet stove
any fan for that matter

At least one of the Harman stoves has a quiet mode you can set it in. It had touchscreen controls, so it wasn't anything I wanted, but it did get a lot quieter in the showroom when he put it in that mode.

With a forced exhaust, even if your room fan is totally off you're not going to have a quiet stove. Like someone else said, try a wood stove with no fans.

When I had a wood stove I had a shelf in the corner behind the stove, just big enough for a pedestal fan. That was barely noticeable, much quieter than the pellet stove fans.

I hope my blower on my stove is quiet when I have it on--fan noises are annoying to say the least..feel for you..clancey

Unless it becomes an overwhelming noise level it just becomes a white noise
and be just part of the background noise Takes a few days to get used to it