Need CATALYTIC stove reviews - had it and want it back.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

azor

Hearth Supporter
Feb 12, 2010
Maryland
This is my first time here and I'm hoping I can get some serious recommendations on catalytic wood stoves. I had a VC Dutchwest large catalytic wood stove in my basement and really liked it (it heated my entire house). I LOVED the fact I could go outside and not see any smoke what so ever come out of my chimney (or smell it). Well, I bought it used and after several years it really needed an overhaul. Because my mother lives in my basement apartment and complained loudly about how hot it got down there, we decided to go with a soapstone wood stove. BIG MISTAKE. Yes it's lovely and has a wonderful gentle heat and my mom likes it. But we freeze upstairs (we have a basement and two floors). The ash pan sucks! Worse of all I see obvious smoke coming out of my chimney ALL the time no matter how hot we are burning it with my lovely 2 year old oak! I am so dissappointed and I spent so much money on that "pretty" wood stove.
Well, I have 2 ideas: 1 - buy a new catalytic wood stove and sell the new soapstone and my mother just has to deal for several months a year. 2 - buy a new catalytic wood stove and install it in our first floor fireplace - this is the friendlier option for my mother but I am concerned about putting a wood stove infront of our fireplace and all the clearance mods I will need to make.