NEED HELP Ashley 1800e in masonry fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Chaz

Jan 1, 2021
Pennsylvania
Hi i am new to the wood stove life. We just purchased a home that has a old heatelalator unit in the fire place. I purchased a Ashley hearth 1800e fireplace insert. After 2 days i already called to have it picked up for a return. It doesnt even heat the living room let alone 1800 sq ft that it advertises. I thought about a wood stove itself and not a insert. But at this point im open for any suggestions. I dont have that deep pockets but at the same time i dont want to buy junk ..... again. Any tips or insight would be awesome !

Welcome to the Forums !!!

Pics would help, a ton.

How seasoned is your firewood?

Liner, or no?

Yes i have a 6 inch liner the chimney is in the center of the house and is a little over 2 ft above roof peak. It was a liner kit with terracotta top plate and cap.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210101-170420_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210101-170420_Chrome.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 150
  • Screenshot_20210101-170408_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20210101-170408_Chrome.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 161
  • 20210101_170532.jpg
    20210101_170532.jpg
    138 KB · Views: 194
Also the wood i assume is seasoned . My parents are burning the same wood without a issue i see that alot of people suggest a moisture reader i have one ordered just not here yet .

That fire is not getting enough air.