Need some advice about this setup

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Recondite

Dec 15, 2017
Maryland
Hello,
I'm new to wood burning stove/fireplace but have read a lot about it. I could use some advice about this fireplace in my rental home. From what I've read, this install doesnt look right. My concern arose after my 3rd fire, I noticed the drywall and the hardwood floors got VERY hot. I of course cleaned the stack and everything before ever lighting it but would like it if someone could tell me what is missing in this setup. Its just a stack to the ceiling and the flue, nothing else. The tiles under it aren't even glued down or anything, the hardwood floor was cut out in a shotty fashion and the heavy tiles just placed in the opening. It doesnt seem safe at all. I'm guessing I should have a protector of sorts on the walls and something bigger or wider on the floor. My house is ALL wood so yeah, I'm pretty concerned lol.
Any advice would be most appreciated!
Thanks!

Attachments

• 1215172120_HDR.jpg
    1215172120_HDR.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 267
Last edited by a moderator:
It could possibly use some more floor protection, but it looks far enough from the walls. It should be 36” from the wall, unless there is a tag or identification on it somewhere that says differently.

If it's a uncertified appliance is there a requirement for more than ember protection underneath?