Need some help with a defecting DIY stove installation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cord

Jun 5, 2006
I've been battling my home for a couple of years and keep on loosing. The home was built in 1941 and has a clay lined chimney. There was a original steel insert fireplace when we bought the home. The insert was not very efficent so we removed it and installed a Franklin stove. I quickly learned that these Franklin's were pretty horrible stoves and quickly replaced it with a Jotul I bought used locally. After a while, the Jotul didn't seem to be working very well and I found that it was a Chinese knock off and was missing several burn plates. We removed the Jotul and replaced it with a Vermont Castings Encore. This is the current stove. The first year we burned the stove, I noticed that it didn't seem to be heating as efficiently as it should. The stove was barely able to maintain 68 degrees in the living room. Our entire home is only 900 some square feet with much of that space in the living room so we should be having to open the windows and dump heat! The next spring I noticed some glazed creosote in the flue and very little dust was created when I brushed the cimney out. There was also a space where the creosote had liquidfied and dripped from the flue creating a puddle behind the stove. Hoping the cat converter was bad, I replaced it with a new one and burned for another season. The results were the same with a continued build up of glazed creosote. At this time, I'm not comfortable using the stove and would like to solve the problems before the season starts.