Need Suggestion for a Big Heat producing Woodstove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scotty Dive

Jan 23, 2013
My situation:
Cape Style house with center field stone chimney with woodstove pad in basement and 8" flue with heat registers into first floor living space. Flue is ~30ft. I have been burning for quite a while (10 years) and had a VC Vigiliant (still have it) that works great but when we added a small addition to the house/basement it was not enough and couldn't keep up with heating the basement and radiating heat upwards. I then moved up to a slightly converted wood boiler (Thermo Control 500). I removed the internal domestic hot water piping of the 500 and am using it as a very large woodstove but I am not a fan of it so far. Just my personal preferences.

So, I am on the hunt for a used woodstove that produces lots of heat (more than the Vigiliant) but still is pretty efficient and affords me the lower maintenance of the VC and the older stoves in general. I don't care about looks, steel or cast. I just want good. I burn hot and not a huge fan of all of the bells and whistles of the newer EPA regulations add ons and of course the cost of the newer stoves.

So, I am going to start looking on craigslist and would appreciate suggestions on models you can recommend that I can look up for reasonable money.

How long has the wood been seasoned that is being burned? Is the basement insulated? How many sq ft is the stove trying to heat?

Last edited: