New Biomass 40 combo owner with questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

hoyt144

Oct 18, 2017
Gorham, Maine
Hi everyone, Ive been lurking here a while and have finally been able to get my boiler set up. I will admit Im a complete newbie and would appreciate any hand holding available. I had a local plumber do the install and while I think its set up mostly correct Im sure there are some tweaks that will help. It is currently set up with 820 gall un pressurized storage tank. My first question is with the boiler itself. When the boiler attempts to switch to oil it is puffing back through the air intake on the front and eventually the burner will shut off and need to be reset. Im not sure if this is a burner set up issue or something else. The other issue or more question is how does the controls for the tank circulators get done. I have the aquastat recommended by Tom at AST but as its wired now I dont think its controlling the pumps as intended. As it is currently when a zone calls for heat the primary loop circ and tank circ come on with the zone pump. While this works if the boiler is running on wood and there isnt a zone calling for heat I want to be able to charge the tank correct? How should this be wired in a perfect world......

Thanks for all your help
Mike

I think we need more details on how your system works before we can help with your design. The question I would have is can you keep the tank circulator off when you are burning oil?

I think your primary loop circ should stay on all the time, and your tank circ should only come on if:
1: there is a call for heat and the tank has heat