New Here ...Hello

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HarrySelby

Hearth Supporter
Jun 28, 2009
Western Maine Mountains
A few years ago I came east and north some many thousands of miles and settled into Maine, into the town of Cornish. I had lived in New South Wales for most of my life. I used to be a professional hunter/guide.... I hope I am welcome here. I have been thinking of heating with a wood stove this year and would appreciate some imput. Got a small place of 1500sq ft.
Always Yours, Harry

Welcome aboard, lots of great people and info here. If you can give us more info like house layout, insulation, windows doors, how much are you trying to heat, ect, ect, we will all give you are .02 cents worth. also utilize the search feature in the upper left corner, the info is endless.

Hello Tood
Very decent of you to reply so soon... Thanks mate. My new old house is a bit of a tin shack. I think people in these parts refer to it as a trailier.... (sorry for miss spelling) at any rate this humble rust cube is about 14 feet by 60 feet and i am told has new insulation in the cap suited to this area. I think wood is the way I want to go but need close clearances for this trailier type of construction...

Sorry but i think I am describing this place wrong as a trailier.... I think the right term is a large hampster cage...

All help help and suggestions much taken well

Thanks all, Harry

Only certain stoves are allowed to be used in a trailer - so make certain yours is "mobile home approved".