New Jotul 550 Rockland and Pics!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

soxfan13

Nov 10, 2007
eastern MA
Here is my new Jotul 550 Rockland insert. I have been having fun breaking it and me in. It is my first wood stove although my parents have an Avalon Ranier so I am not a total noob. It is my first time with a cast iron stove. It takes a while to heat up but it does hold the heat well.

Initial thoughts……It takes a while to get this puppy up to speed. I can’t really find a good spot for the thermometer so I don't know how accurate it is. I feel it is at least 150 or 200 degrees lower then where it should be when I compare the heat output to my parents' stove. The glass has been perfectly clean the whole time.

I can't wait to see what this thing does. I am sure I will have a lot of questions for all of you.

I hope the pictures come out. If not then I will need some help.

Attachments

• wood stove 002.jpg
    wood stove 002.jpg
    15.6 KB · Views: 539
  • wood stove 003.jpg
    wood stove 003.jpg
    21.2 KB · Views: 574
  • wood stove 005.jpg
    wood stove 005.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 663
I still can't tell the difference between the 350 and 550 in pictures. Then I saw you managed to fit more than 2 logs in the stove, so that means it isn't a 350! FWIW, the thermometer is on the air intake, so it probably will read cool. I think the best place is to the left or right of the door, but I haven't found a thermometer small enough to fit there.

That sure looks nice.