New member- new to wood stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JoeGibs

Nov 6, 2023
Wisconsin
Hello forum! I’ve been doing a lot of reading the last few weeks about wood stoves as I’m putting one in my finished pole barn. Every time I googled a question it always directed me to this forum. Excellent source of information!! I’m new to wood stoves and have never owned one before, so forgive me if some questions seem… dumb.. I have much to learn, and priority number one is don’t burn down the barn.

After much research, mostly from lurking on the forum, I chose a blaze king as my stove of choice for the efficiency and slow burn capabilities, and was able to pick up one off of fb marketplace for a good price. It came with some piping that I’m not sure will all work, so I’m in the process of getting all the pieces I need for installation.

My first question is about the collar that connects to the stove. There's a piece that came with that fits to the collar, but logic suggests that it should fit over the outside of the collar, not sit on the inside. But reading the blaze king manual from the interwebs, it says that it should sit inside the collar for any distillates to fall back into the stove. Is this correct?

The stove also came with a couple sections of class A piping that I intend to use, but the problem with that is it's 6" pipe, and the collar coming off of the stove is 8". Is it possible/safe to use a reduction to 6" so I can utilize the 60" of 6" class A piping I have or should I suck it up and purchase 8" class A to run through the ceiling and the roof?