New owner of a Vestal stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

302w

Aug 23, 2023
PA
I recently bought a home that has this stove installed in the basement. I believe it is original and dates from 1970. Can anyone offer me any suggestions or advice?

I plan on getting a certified chimney sweep to inspect it. I have a masonry chimney now and I imagine I need a stainless liner. I may attempt to DIY or I may just pay someone to do it.

I'm a little concerned an inspector/chimney sweep will just state it is old and therefore unsafe and needs replacement.

uszebMf_d.webp

Th stove is old and inefficient, but probably functional. After the sweep determines the integrity and safety of the flue system. he main question will be whether the insurance company will insure the house with an unlisted stove.

It looks like the basement walls are uninsulated so the heat loss through them will be large, about 30%. With an inefficient stove the wood consumption will be high. That may be okay if keeping the stove is just for burning when there is a power outage, but could get expensive if one is buying wood for heat.

Thank you! What is interesting is I did get the manual from Vestal. It is dated 1985 and they list a "code compliant" and non code compliant model. They can't tell me which one is which since they haven't made stoves in a few decades.

The stove looks earlier than 1985. Is there a UL label on the back of it?

This is a Fisher stove clone. Much of the info in the Fisher section of the Classics applies.