New Pellet Stove User

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rjr25

Feb 26, 2014
New Hampshire
As the title states, I am new to owning a pellet stove. Had a wood stove this winter in my house I recently purchased. Due to the time and labor associated with it, I recently put in a pellet stove and had a few questions.

So far I am not seeing much in terms of heating my house. I have had the stove since Friday. I am curious what you all average as far as bag per day usage as I am trying to figure out if I am just babying this or not. I loaded my 7th bag in this morning (today is my 5th full day of burning). The first few days I was seeing some decent heat when it was warmer out (30's day, 20's night) but the past 2 days/nights the temps are much colder here in NH and short of cranking the thing full blast, I am not seeing much for heat.

I purchased the Avalon AGP. My house is only 1600 sq feet. I believe this stove is rated for 2000 and btu around 47000 on high. This stove had manual adjust knobs for both heat and fan (no numbers associated with any setting). Last night I ran the stove probably about a third of the way up on heat and fan. Put a full bag in around 7pm, woke up this morning and check on the stove around 7am and the bag had pretty much been run through, and my thermostat in my living room was reading 55 degress. Cold. I realize I can simply crank it all the way up, but seems like I would be burning 2-3 bags a day and I guess over the term of a full winter next year, I dont see this being beneficial.