new stove smell

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

searaysrv

Jan 14, 2007
Hey guys,
I am new to wood burning. Just installed a drolet fireplace insert and full length liner and have afew questions.
1 how long until the paint curing smell goes away?
2 is it normal to get a bit of a smokey smell when opening the door?
3 it seems that the fire tends to smoulder when i close the air inlet too much(wood is well seasoned and dry)it seems that i could use a stronger draft.installed 14' of liner should i try extending the chimney a couple feet?
Thanks for the help, Joe

It does sound like the stove wants better draft. You don't want smoke coming out of the stove when you open the door. Before openng the door, open the air intake all the way and wait about 30 seconds. Then open the door slowly. How did the liner install go? Is it ovalized in any areas? Is this an interior or exterior chimney?

You might want to try splitting the wood you are burning in half and see if it doesn't burn hotter and better. Paint will cure usually after about 4 fires in the stove.

searaysrv said:
Hey guys,
I am new to wood burning. Just installed a drolet fireplace insert and full length liner and have afew questions.
1 how long until the paint curing smell goes away?
2 is it normal to get a bit of a smokey smell when opening the door?
3 it seems that the fire tends to smoulder when i close the air inlet too much(wood is well seasoned and dry)it seems that i could use a stronger draft.installed 14' of liner should i try extending the chimney a couple feet?
Thanks for the help, Joe