New to burning wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

W00die

Jan 5, 2021
Connecticut
Hello everyone. I am new to burning wood to heat my house so let me give u all a run down of what i am dealing with.

I believe the stove is a napoleon 1400 free standing epa stove. Only a few years old bought it on craigslist. The wood i have is maple red oak and ash all below 20% moisture. (Yes it is seasoned wood. Resplit it, check moisture of split pieces still below 20%). Stove is in unfinished basement so only insulation is on the ceiling. I mainly rely on pellet stove in my livingroom on the main floor to heat the house. I live in new england.

I have no problem getting a fire going or keeping a fire going as my wood is seasoned and very rarely have any smoke out the chimney. My problem is getting the basement te heat up. 66 degrees is the hottest ive had it down there and would really like to be able to leave the door open to let heat into the main floor during the day

stove will get up to 600 degrees so ill shut the air down to about 1/3 open and fire stays going good but the temp drops to 300 before all the wood is being burnt and leaves A TON of coals. (Magnet thermostat is on flue 18 inches above stove top) maybe i just need a bigger stove? Fits about 4-5 pieces of wood Horizontally so i try to put a few small pieces inbetween to let air up.