New to Inserts

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bortolrs

Mar 30, 2020
WA
A few months ago we moved into a house with a Sweet Home Stove Works S-18 (or S-24) insert (photos attached). I am new to inserts, and have not really even used a fireplace much in the past 15+ years. I believe we understand the basics but we have not been having much luck the few times we have tried our insert.

When starting a fire we need to keep the door slightly open for well over a half hour. I know you need to give the fire time to start up before sealing the door, but 45 minutes or so seems like a really long time. The air control is wide open, so the first should be getting the maximum amount of air possible when the door is closed, but it still burns out pretty quickly if the door is closed. So how long is 'normal' to leave the door cracked before the fire will stay lit when the door is closed? I get that the fire will get a little smaller with less air coming in, but it totally goes out if the door is closed before about 45 minuets in. The fire appeared to burn better when the fan was going, but my understanding is that the fan is to blow air around the insert and push the hot air back into the room. So it doesn't make sense that the fire would burn better with that blowing unless there was some bleed air going into the fireplace as well. Or it could just be me thinking it burns better.