New to radiant floor heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

brentchaffin

Sep 30, 2020
Missouri
Ok so bear with me I’m new to radiant floor heat. So we just finish building a new house. I ran my floor loops. Just purchased a new crown royal multi pass owb. I’m working on getting everything hooked up. So my thought was you could just run your line from the stove to a manifold, through the floor and back to the stove. After reading some things on here I realize that is not the correct method. Looking for help on setting up the best system. The stove is a duel pump set up. One line will go to the furnace in my shop, which I have set up before. Thanks in advance.

What is your back up heat source? Gas fired boiler? Common practice is to use a heat exchanger to keep boiler water and home water separate.

What is your back up heat source? Gas fired boiler? Common practice is to use a heat exchanger to keep boiler water and home water separate.

so backup heat would be an electric furnace. I’m hoping with the floor heat it won’t run much. So the heat exchanger would use the boiler water to heat the floor water without mixing. So is a mixing valve still required to reduce the temp of the water going into the floor?

Last edited:
Is this in a slab or between joists? Are you heating domestic water?

I don't see any reason that you couldn't run boiler water through the floor. Mixing valve somewhere to keep temperatures low enough for the concrete.