New to Wood Burning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Woody5506

Minister of Fire
Feb 14, 2017
Rochester NY
Hello everyone, I have lurked the boards long enough and finally decided to join. As the title says, I'm new to wood burning as of this year and so far am pretty hooked to everything about it. I'm big into scrounging and haven't paid a dime for any of my wood so far although I'm not sure I'll be able to keep that up for the rest of the season. Scrounging, splitting, stacking and of course burning are all incredibly satisfying to me. The pic (if it shows up) is about half of my wood stash right now, mostly unseasoned.

I bought PE T5 stove as my first stove ever and it seems great, though I really have nothing to compare it to. I look forward to many years of using it and reading/contributing to this board.
20170128_151203.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome & congrats on the stove.
Don't worry, scrounging is an addiction and the more you do it, the more you find, and the more you find yourself doing it...

To loosely paraphrase a movie...if you scrounge for it, the wood will come.

Reactions: Woody5506
Here's an official welcome . . . from a lurker to a member . . . I was wondering who that was peeking in through the windows here at hearth.com. ;)

It is addictive... I don't even have a stove anymore but keep coming back... Hoping to be burning this winter though...
Good luck...

You could write a 'how to scrounge' book by the looks of things...thats quite a stash youve got going just from scrounging :)