New to wood stoves. Just built a Barrel Stove with the Kit. Need a bit of help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

towir022

Sep 22, 2014
Minnesota
Hi all,

I am new to wood stoves and am in need of a bit of help. I will start this thread by getting to the point and asking my questions so that those who do not want to read forever can quickly answer. After I ask my question I will give a little background on my previous methods of heating my garage/workshop and what has led me to wanting to try the barrel stove.

So far I have built the barrel stove and put it on my patio in the backyard as you are supposed to burn them a couple times out doors in order to burn out any old smells or chemicals. So I have now burned two fires in it out doors and I have noticed a couple problems.

1. When I open the door of the burning stove smoke billows out the front. It is not a big deal since I am outside but if this were in my garage it would be a problem with all that smoke coming in.

2. I can get the fire going pretty good but when I shut the door and have the vent in the front all the way open and also have the damper in the flu open the fire really struggles to continue burning. The holes in the front vent are not very large but I figure it should not need much since I hear of people using air tight stoves.