Newbie..... carbon deposit question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

xraydog

Aug 16, 2009
Northcentral PA
Hello All,
I am a newbie pellet stove user coming from years of wood stove burning.

This is my first season and I am burning a Harman Absolute 43 stove with Instant Heat Pellets.

The stove has been working flawlessly since October, however, I am noticing some real stubborn carbon deposits in the burn pot which takes a lot of effort (screwdriver and hammer) to clear. I usually clear them weekly when emptying the ashpan.

I have seen several posts about 'carbon deposits". I have a few questions that I was hoping you more experienced burners can help me with.

1) Are Carbon deposits the result of the pellet composition, quality or result of stove operation?
2) Do these hard deposit affect the stove operation and should I worry about removing them on a regular basis.
3) If pellet related what should I look for in pellet composition to avoid or limit them?

Thanks,

Rick D