Newbie here, and a stack photo

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PDXpyro

Burning Hunk
Oct 10, 2013
NW Oregon
Hi, all-- this is my second post here; the first one was just a few minutes ago in the "Hearth Room" forum. Just wanted to throw in a stack photo to get the hang of things... I haven't seen any other piles quite like mine as (hopefully) pictured: the stack is covered with plywood sheets ripped into 2' lengthwise strips, arranged in a wide V shape, with the ends overlapping at the bottom.

The lower overlapped end is "guttered" with a split section of 4" ABS pipe, sloped to drain runoff to the opposite side of the stack as seen from this viewpoint, and that runoff then falls onto a piece of 1x12 laid against the side of the stack to direct splash away from the wood. I've built several piles in this fashion, and it works well. I Photoshopped in a white arrow indicating where the ABS gutter is in the picture.

Anyway, glad to finally be a member here, and I look forward to much more geeky discussion of this strangely addictive obsession.

Attachments

• Firewood.jpg
    Firewood.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 368
Wow, a lot of thought went into directing the runoff....now what happens when you start taking wood from the pile, and all those angles change....rebuild ??

I like your stacks if you know what I mean.
What the cedar looking post there on the end is it an old close line post?

Good idea for run off. Is that wood ready to burn? Welcome to the forum PDX.

Welcome to the forum PXDpyro.