NEWBIE here with Hearth?? And , Hello.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RandyW

Hearth Supporter
Dec 8, 2007
Maple Grove PA
Hello to all. My name is Randy & I live in Maple Grove PA.

My question is about hearth construction. More spicificly about going over the BRAND NEW 3/4" oak hard wood floor I just installed myself. Sub flooring is 3/4" plywood then 1/8" luan board, 15# felt paper, then the actual oak floor. All this is resting on 2-3/4" x 6-3/4" joists. I know its beefy.
My wife is dead set against me cutting out the flooring and starting at subfloor. I agree with her. Is there anything I can use to protect the floor with, as the heart will actually not be secured to the floor. Or is that not good. We may move the wood stove years down the line and wont be able to put floor back together again.
I plan to use metal studs to frame out an area 5'w x 4'd. Then a layer of cement board, sheetmetal, cement board, and top it off with some 3" flag stone I have laying in the back yard. There are some thinner pieces I can cut to cover the studs and boards for the sides. Does this sound like overkill or not. Reading some other posts I would think not.
Any suggestions to save the floor from damage would make the wifey happy. I do have access to lots of rubber roofing as a possible buffer between floor and frame.
Thanx in advance for any response. Randy

I forgot to mention I will be purchasing a Vermont Casting Encore Non Cat , chimney straight up through cathedral ceiling with 8" pipe.

Welcome.