Newbie raised hearth

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TheMayor

Dec 16, 2021
Lacombe Louisiana
Hi there, I’m new here but have been lurking in the background for a few weeks. I know this has been discussed in many threads but I need some help building my raised hearth and could use any advice out there. I have been building my home for four years now. Unfortunately, I fell off of the roof during construction and found that I don’t bounce like I used to. After a year of surgeries and recovery, I’m getting close. I designed and built my home from the ground up, doing everything myself with the exception of the electrical and mechanical. With that being said, I didn’t do enough planning and made some changes mid stream that I shouldn’t have. One of those changes was moving my fireplace insert forward by 16”, effectively moving the hearth area forward of the CMU piers that were meant to support it and the mantle.