Simple easy light hearth help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Foopysfarm

Oct 11, 2023
Washington
I am building a small 10x16 cabin. I've never built anything before and I'm just finishing up the outside. I'm planning to install lvp flooring. For the space where I'm planning to put the free standing wood stove I need help designing the flooring/hearth underneath. I want simple, easy, and light. The joists supporting the floor are getting close to pushing their luck in terms of span.

I don't have a stove picked out yet (need help with that too but probably for another thread) so I don't know the manufacturers requirements.
My initial thoughts after doing some reading on this thread is an additional layer of 3/4 plywood with a 1/2 cement board and then a store bought stove board on top. Does this make sense?

How do I attach the cement board to the plywood? And the stove board to the cement board?

I'm thinking something like this: https://www.northlineexpress.com/32-x-42-ul-1618-black-stoveboard-t2ul3242bl-1c-2447.html

There are specific types of screws to use with cement board as regular ones can break down (see pic). The 3/4” ply will give you added strength definitely and am assuming due tot he size of the cabin, you will go with a small stove (less weight than large stoves).

Make sure the hearth you’re building is large enough for the stove as there are setbacks for each stove.

IMG_4379.png