Newbie seeking advice - Isle Royal burning fast and hot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

happyman

Hearth Supporter
Nov 25, 2007
Kitsap Peninsula, WA
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here but have spent time reading a number of topics over the past few weeks and am impressed by the depth of knowledge contained on these pages. Impressive.

I've been using a HUGE old Fisher (Grandpa Bear?) from the 70s. (The house was build in '78 and I suspect it has been here since then.) I was eating wood by the wheelbarrow load, plus smoking like crazy, so I decided to switch to something more "efficient." I ended up with a Quadrafire Isle Royal. I've seen a topics in regards to this stove, and it appears IR owners love their stoves.