newby needs help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

big worm

Dec 8, 2009
western mass
Hello everyone. I am totally new at this wood burning for heat thing. I got really sick of paying the gas man when I live in the woods and see all of this renewable fuel growing right in my back yard. I went out and bought myself a new hearthstone Clydesdale insert and cut down a bunch of trees. The problem is I didn't have time to let the wood cure. They do burn, but they take a long time to get going and I have to burn the stove wide open to get it hot. I think that because I'm doing this, the fire doesn't last very long. I load it up before bed at about 11 and it is completely out at 6. I was told that with this stove, I could get about 10 hours of burn time. Was I lied to, or am I doing something wrong? My dream was that I would be able to heat my 1700 square foot house. I don't want to buy wood. should I? or should I just keep doing it this way and learn for next year?

Unseasoned wood will not have the performance of good dry wood. Much of the btu reserves are being consumed to boil the log dry. This WILL result in a lower BTU output and reduce overall stove performance.

With good dry wood, you will have a totally different stove on your hands.

If you do go down the path to purchase wood, ya better make sure it is seasoned. A very high percent of the sellers are NOT selling ready to burn, dry wood. Moisture meters can take the guess work out of the purchase.