P68 auger squeak/squeal issue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sublimefdq

Jan 26, 2011
Southern Tier, NY
I have had an issue with my P68 making a noise. I could not resolve the issue for 2 months and although I did not talk with my harmon dealer, I doubt he would have resolved the issue (and I chose the farthest one away from me as he sold the p68 for 800 cheaper than anyone else). I am a Mechanical Engineer who fixes compressors in the field, so it is extremely hard for me to ask for help on a much simpler product. Note that this help may not be applicable for all p68s. Mine was purchased in summer 2010. My auger motor is the 3-20-09302.

The pellet stove is brand new and I put about 1 ton through it when the squeaking occurred. The squeak occurred only when the auger was feeding and around the time the roller for the UL feeder was at 12:00. Per reading several message boards, I added lube to the area shown, removed sawdust buildup in the UL area, and scraped any buildup at the hot end of the auger. This would work temporarily but the squeal would reappear.