Pellet insert vs coal insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

buckeyeboerboels

Jun 24, 2008
I am looking to replace my old wood insert with either a pellet or coal insert. i reside in Ohio and can get anthracite coal pretty reasonable, but as I am new to this I'm not sure which insert would be a better fit for me. I have a 2,400 sq ft home which I want to heat primarily with this unit so i have to purchase very little fuel oil. any advise would be appreciated...

Moved to the Pellet forum so members here can advise about owning a pellet stove. It would be a good idea to check pricing and supplies. I think coal will win out for btus/dollar. However, I think pellets will be much cleaner in the house.

You should also check out the anthracite coal forums to get insight and options from coal insert owners.

www.nepacrossroads.com/

I debated very strongly between a coal stove and a pellet stove. At the end of the day, a pellet stove won out. But having this in the pellet forum is boud to cause some bias.

Here is what tipped the scale for me:
1) Coal is rare here. There are many pellet dealers, but only one or two coal dealers. If they stopped carrying coal, I'd be in a lot of trouble.
2) Coal is not renewable. Sure, we have plenty of it. Despite this, I was leery investing a lot of money for something that is being dug out of the earth.
3) Coal is not environmentally friendly. Burning coal emits carbon into the atmosphere that had been stored underground. This doesn't affect your wallet, but it was a factor for me.