Pellets don't seem to fully burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gregorysalatino

Nov 27, 2015
west middlesex, PA
I am new to pellet stoves. I just purchased an englander 55 and have been running it for about a week. My question is..... It seems like the pellets aren't fully burning up before more pellets are deposited. I have the lower auger speed turned all the way down to 1. I posted a couple pictures below of what i am talking about. Is this normal opperation or do i have something setup wrong?

208d77e0cacab72f2078bf0dadbaed31.jpg

11d3dec6bd9b65714f4fe85a551022fc.jpg

Looks like lots of pellets in the pot.
What is the main feed set at?
Might be an air issue. Also your control board may be in the wrong mode.
Try a board reset.. Do a search on Englanders site for info.

Numbers on lower 3 settings are 6-9-1 per info provided by AcesWifey per England Stove Works. Never change the last number from one...
https://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/auger-not-working.150183/#post-2014883

Haven't looked at the manual to see what they have there... When making changes, always record settings and wait 1/2 or more to determine effects of changes. Keep us posted.

Make sure seals are tight at door, hopper, ash pan (depending on stove configuration) as those will interfer with burn...

Yes, the door is open, which explains the lazy flame. How do i know what the main feed is set at? If i turn up the intake air will i loose any of my heat out the exhaust?

You already mentioned what the feed was set at.. 1-4-1. Are you sure these are the specs for the year of the stove??