Pellets to wood pro's and con's

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Pshell

Feb 13, 2018
Northern NJ
Newbie here with a question. I'm currently running a Quad Castille pellet insert. It's in a family room/ kitchen open floor plan.
Im only interested in heating that area primarily. If the heat finds its way down to the other end of the ranch thats fine.
My issue is the current unit heats the area adequately unless its below 20 degrees, then its a struggle. ( lots of windows).
imo the fan is louder than I want to deal with.
If the fan is on high it will heat to my needs but it's way to loud for its location which is next to the tv.
Im considering going back to a wood insert. I've had a VC insert in the past (different house)and was very happy but went to pellets for convenience. I'm willing to deal with wood again to get some quiet.
Now I guess the two main concerns are am I going to get too hot in the relatively small rooms (16×50) and will I need to run a fan in a wood unit to heat a space that size?
Thanks for reading.

Attachments

• 20180213_161232.jpg
    20180213_161232.jpg
    100.2 KB · Views: 203
Last edited:
If the insert sticks out onto the hearth enough, it might heat the space adequately when temps are milder, but very likely you'll need to run a blower on a wood insert when it gets below 20º. You control how hot the insert gets by the amount of fuel and air the fire gets. If it's 45º outside, build a smaller fire and let it go out overnight.