Peltier fan + smart thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Tristan3030

Mar 18, 2020
Northern Ireland
Hi all,
I have a lot of engineering experience and I have 3 wood burning stoves. I tried the aduru smart response gadget, but returned it as it was $**t - it was over complicated, expensive, and simply didn't do what I wanted, which was to be notified when the temperature dropped. I think the people behind that gadget got hung up on the optimum temperature and forgot about usability.
So I am going to make my own!
I am also considering setting up my own business and perhaps making this as a commercial product - I would really appreciate some feedback on features and pricing before making that decision.
I made a draft product spec sheet - have a look.

The basic idea is this:
A peltier powered fan also has a wifi module and a thermometer. It would let you know when the temperature goes too high (you've forgotten to turn it down after lighting!) or too low (you need to add more wood)

1. would you want one? do you think it would be useful?
2. are there any particular features you'd like to see in it? are there any problems you would anticipate?
3. do you know of any other solution that is already on the market? (apart from the aduro)
4. how much would you pay for it?
5. any other feedback welcome!
6. if you've made something similar as an arduino project and could chat with me or give a link to useful info that'd be great!

Thanks a lot - Tristan

Attachments

• Stove App.png
    Stove App.png
    369.2 KB · Views: 95