Poor draft issue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KG19

May 15, 2022
SW Wisconsin
I’m pretty new to using a wood stove. Had it cleaned in January of last year after buying our house and only used the stove for about 6 weeks in March-April. Burned maybe 1/3 cord during that time. I’ve started using it again this fall as the temps go down.

I’ve noticed what seems to be very bad draft and it worries me. When starting up, smoke will sometimes pour into the room right away before I even get the door closed, and when I try to open to reload, smoke will also come into the room.

Do you think this might mean my chimney is blocked with creosote ? I couldn’t get a cleaning scheduled until December so I’m worried that I should stop using it until then… was hoping to use it as primary heat this year.

The model is a woodpro 2000. The wood I’m burning right now is dead standing pine that measures between 10-15% on my moisture meter.

Any help or advice is much appreciated. Thank you!

I’m pretty new to using a wood stove. Had it cleaned in January of last year after buying our house and only used the stove for about 6 weeks in March-April. Burned maybe 1/3 cord during that time. I’ve started using it again this fall as the temps go down.

I’ve noticed what seems to be very bad draft and it worries me. When starting up, smoke will sometimes pour into the room right away before I even get the door closed, and when I try to open to reload, smoke will also come into the room.