Preexisting Stove Replacement Estimate

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

HudValley

Dec 22, 2013
Wallkill, NY
We are moving into a new home in New York's Hudson Valley. I am new to wood stoves and I am concerned with the existing dual door cast iron Timberline stove currently installed. We would like to replace the stove with something that is both safe and efficient.

Is it possible to replace the current stove with a newer model without making serious changes to the existing pipe and chimney set up?

If so, not including the new unit, how much do you think installation would run?

Greetings. Possible yes, as long as the current flue is safe and not too large for the new stove. To tell this we need to know a lot more about the current flue setup and chimney. Pictures are always welcome.

Greetings. Possible yes, as long as the current flue is safe and not too large for the new stove. To tell this we need to know a lot more about the current flue setup and chimney. Pictures are always welcome.
Thanks for the quick reply. Since we haven't moved in yet, I don't have many pictures. The flue appears to be in good condition as well as the chimney. The flue appeared to be 8". I have attached a picture, maybe you can get a better idea of the stove and its set up from that. Thanks for any help you can give.

Rob 2013-12-16 10.53.38.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Yep, that would be an 8" flue. The stove is not exactly setup to code for clearances. A new stove will be an all around improvement. There are modern units with much closer clearances than the old Timberline.