Products for cleaning woodstove glass and eliminating cresoy?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Nat321

Oct 7, 2021
Ymir bc
Hey everyone!

I’m new to burning in my wood stove and I wanted to see if there is any products on the market that I can use to clean the glass and if there was anything specific that I could burn that will lower creosote build up with in my system.

Our chimney was swept one month ago in a house that we purchased. I live in an area which winter comes 6 weeks early, we’ve had Temperatures in the minus for a couple weeks now. Unfortunately our wood isn’t perfectly seasoned but the trees we fell were dead standing. I am finding some build up inside.

I have read somewhere that burning a specific thing once a week helps lower creosote and helps break down that build up. We have a long winter winter ahead of us. We will be more dialed with wood supply next year but we just need to get through this winter with what we have!

Thanks for any advice!

A cloth or paper towel, wetted, and dipped in wood ash gets the stuff off your window easily.

I don't know about products to burn. But I do know not to burn them if you have a cat stove. (Hence I do not know...)

Keep the fire hotter for now, don't turn it down so much (overnight). Safer to not deposit creosote in your chimney...

There aren't any products that I know of that will actually eliminate or prevent creosote...
Well, on the prevention side if you are burning good dry wood good and hot that will prevent it. But, you already mentioned your wood isn't the best.