Proposed solar array install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mr. Kelly

Feeling the Heat
Hi everyone,

I am new to the solar world, and I am researching what two different solar companies locally have offered… I’d like to know your input on it, since I’m not hugely well-versed with solar technology. Sorry if this is redundant… or mundane…

here is what I have been quoted:

Company #1:

● Panel: Q.Cells, 25-year power production = 5500 W
warranty, 25-year material warranty
● Inverter: SMA 10-year material and power production warranty

● 10 year installation warranty

Total system cost: $16,500 (not including federal/state tax incentives)
I am going to finance a 10 year loan… Their solar loan is 4.99%

Company #2:

16 panels: Longi 355 BOB= 5700 W
25 year production warranty
● Inverter: Enphase Micro inverters per panel
25 year production warranty

15 year installation warranty

Total system cost: $23,500

Their solar loan for 10 years is .99%

So, I am doing an A/B analysis between the two offerings…

First things first… What do you think about the difference between the two different manufacturers of panels? Anybody have any background with these companies?

Next… One company offers an inclusive single inverter, while the other company is touting a single microinverter per panel, citing if one microinverter goes down, the whole system still remains active.

Does anybody have any input regarding going with either a single inverter versus micro inverters?